Dorm rules differ more than families expect: one school bans string lights, another allows them; one lets you bring a 5-cubic-foot fridge, another supplies the fridge and bans yours. Below are 25 large universities, read from each school's own housing page in October 2026, with a link to the page we read. Rules change and some pages are for one campus or hall type, so check your own housing office before you buy.
- Bed
- Twin XL, twin or full sheets depending on room style (mattress size not stated)
- Fridge
- Not stated on the page
- Microwave
- Not stated on the page
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (listed as flammable items, with wax melts)
- Extension cords
- Not listed as a category. A power strip or surge protector is on the bring list
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Open heating elements prohibited, including toasters, hot plates and crock pots or Instant Pots
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (electric heaters count as open heating elements)
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: Personal wireless access points, routers and wireless printers prohibited; Bed lofting kits, hoverboards and motorized scooters prohibited; Voice-activated assistants and wireless gaming devices prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: ASU Housing: What to Bring checklist (PDF, May 2025 file). “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long twin; full-size in Douthit Hills West buildings A, B, C and D
- Fridge
- Refrigerators over 3.6 cubic feet prohibited
- Microwave
- Listed as prohibited in the leave-behind list; the same page says microwaves may be used in apartment kitchens
- Candles and incense
- Candles, wax warmers and incense prohibited
- Extension cords
- Prohibited (use a power strip)
- String lights
- LED strip lights allowed only without adhesive strips; string lights not listed
- Cooking appliances
- Cooking appliances for the residence hall prohibited (rice cooker, toaster oven, hot plate)
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: Air conditioners, fog machines and hoverboards prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Clemson Housing packing list. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Mattresses supplied in each room; linens for an 80 in mattress recommended
- Fridge
- Supplied in each room
- Microwave
- Supplied in each room; do not bring one
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (candles, torches, flammables)
- Extension cords
- Extension cords prohibited; safety-fused power strips or surge protectors recommended
- String lights
- Self-adhesive LED strip lights prohibited; string lights not listed
- Cooking appliances
- Air fryers, electric fry pans, deep-fry cookers, hot plates, toasters, toaster ovens and Instant Pots or pressure cookers prohibited; crock pots, coffee makers, rice cookers, personal indoor grills and popcorn poppers listed as optional
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (space heaters, electric and kerosene heaters)
- Halogen lamps
- Not stated on the page
Also: Incandescent light bulbs prohibited; Ceiling fans, lava lamps, oil lamps and electric or wax candle warmers prohibited; E-bikes, e-scooters and other micro-mobility devices prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: ECU Campus Living: What to Bring / What to Leave at Home. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long recommended; the page says mattress sizes vary
- Fridge
- Extra refrigerators prohibited; no size limit stated
- Microwave
- 700 watts or less
- Candles and incense
- Candles and incense prohibited
- Extension cords
- Not stated on the page
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Equipment with an exposed heating coil prohibited (toaster ovens, hot plates, electric skillets, grills)
- Space heaters
- Electric heaters prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: Lofts, concrete blocks under beds and ceiling fans prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: FSU Housing: what to bring. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Twin XL, about 38 in wide by 85.5 in long (approximate)
- Fridge
- No larger than 4.5 cubic feet
- Microwave
- Less than 10 amps or 1,200 watts
- Candles and incense
- Candles, incense and fireworks prohibited; battery-operated candles are allowed
- Extension cords
- Traditional extension cords prohibited
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Appliances with an open heating element, pressure cookers, Instant Pots and air fryers prohibited; slow cookers allowed
- Space heaters
- Not named (appliances with an exposed heating element are prohibited)
- Halogen lamps
- Halogen bulbs prohibited
Also: Lofts prohibited; Wireless access points and 3D printers prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Georgia Tech Items to Bring, Georgia Tech Room and Furniture Info. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long twin mattress
- Fridge
- Mini refrigerator-microwave combo of 3.3 cubic feet or less, under 6 amps; full-size refrigerators prohibited
- Microwave
- Appliances rated 700 watts (6 amps) or less
- Candles and incense
- Candles not mentioned; incense and incense burners prohibited
- Extension cords
- Allowed, with LCDI technology
- String lights
- Holiday lights listed as optional
- Cooking appliances
- Air fryers, crockpots, hot plates, toaster ovens and grills of any type prohibited
- Space heaters
- Open-coil electric heaters prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: Bed risers and air conditioners prohibited (medical exceptions may be approved).
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: IU Housing: move-in packing. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Twin XL mattress
- Fridge
- Up to 5 cubic feet (optional item)
- Microwave
- 750 watts or less (optional item)
- Candles and incense
- Candles prohibited (incense not listed)
- Extension cords
- Not listed as a category. A surge protector is listed as an essential
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Indoor grills, panini presses, air fryers, Instant Pots, toaster ovens and hot plates prohibited
- Space heaters
- Not stated on the page
- Halogen lamps
- Not stated on the page
Also: Personal wireless routers prohibited; Air conditioners prohibited except for approved medical reasons; E-scooters and e-bikes not allowed in any MSU building.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: MSU Residence Education and Housing Services: What to Bring. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Standard mattress 77-80 in long; some halls have Full XL. Extended beds (12 in longer) for residents 6 ft 4 in or taller in limited quantities
- Fridge
- One UL-approved refrigerator/freezer per room; maximum size printed as "4/0 total cubic feet"
- Microwave
- 1,000 watts or less; do not plug a refrigerator and microwave into the same outlet
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (candles and incense)
- Extension cords
- Prohibited unless they carry the seal of an independent testing laboratory accredited by the CPSC; extension cords as a permanent power supply for portable devices prohibited
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Hall rooms: coffee/tea makers with enclosed heating elements, a portable microwave and one refrigerator. Hot plates and toasters/toaster ovens only in designated kitchenettes, never unattended
- Space heaters
- Portable heating units prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited (halogen lamps and halogen-bulb candle warmers)
Also: Lofted or bunked beds come with an installed safety rail; lofts and extended beds not available in UR Boiler Apartments.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Purdue Housing: Facilities Guidelines, Purdue Housing: What to Bring. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
Texas A&M UniversityResidence halls and apartments (Corps of Cadets halls differ)
- Bed
- Residence hall mattress 36 x 77 in; apartment mattress 54 x 75 in
- Fridge
- Up to 4.4 cubic feet in residence halls and apartments
- Microwave
- Up to 700 watts in residence halls and apartments
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (candles, candle warmers, incense, oil lamps and other open-flame devices, including potpourri pots)
- Extension cords
- Extension cords, multiple plug adapters and power strips without circuit breakers prohibited in residence halls; apartment power strips must be UL approved with built-in circuit breakers
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Camping stoves, electric skillets, hot plates, griddles, grills, toasters, toaster ovens, sandwich makers, pressure cookers and induction cookers prohibited in residence halls; air fryers, crock pots and rice cookers are on the bring list
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited (halogen lamps)
Also: Non-university wireless routers and power tools prohibited; Corps of Cadets halls: microwaves, refrigerators and cooking appliances not allowed.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Texas A&M Residence Life: Move-In, Texas A&M Residence Life: Appliances, Texas A&M Residence Life: Candles. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Twin XL (sheets listed as twin extra-long, 80 in)
- Fridge
- Personal refrigerators prohibited; each room has a refrigerator-microwave unit
- Microwave
- Provided in the room unit
- Candles and incense
- Candles and incense prohibited
- Extension cords
- Prohibited (octopus plugs too)
- String lights
- LED strip lights prohibited; string lights not listed
- Cooking appliances
- Hot plates, toasters, toaster ovens, electric skillets and hot pots prohibited
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Not stated on the page
Also: Air conditioners, lofting kits and network routers prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Ohio State What to Bring, Columbus campus (PDF). “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long twin (80 in) in most halls; full-size in Towers; queen (full XL) in NorthView. Mattresses are raised to the highest level; no risers.
- Fridge
- Up to 5 cubic feet
- Microwave
- Up to 1,000 watts
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (open-flame devices, including candles)
- Extension cords
- Not listed as a category. Power strips must be 120-volt, UL approved, with a cord of 6 feet or less and 6 outlets or fewer.
- String lights
- Prohibited (decorative, holiday and LED string lights)
- Cooking appliances
- Heaters, hot plates and open-element appliances prohibited. Toaster ovens, toasters, rice cookers, crock pots and air fryers are allowed only in apartment-style kitchens.
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (heaters)
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited (halogen, torchiere and octopus lamps)
Also: Bed lofts and risers prohibited; Setting off the fire alarm with an appliance carries a fee of at least $375.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UCF Housing packing list. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Not stated; the page refers you to your residence community's bed type
- Fridge
- Refrigerators listed as prohibited for students to bring
- Microwave
- Not prohibited; no limit stated
- Candles and incense
- Candles, incense and diffusers prohibited
- Extension cords
- Not stated on the page
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Air fryers, toaster ovens, grills and hot plates prohibited
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (air conditioner and space heater)
- Halogen lamps
- Halogen lamps and decorative lighting prohibited
Also: Bringing your own bed or mattress prohibited; Octopus plugs, wireless routers, hoverboards and electric scooters prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Cincinnati Housing: what to bring. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long twin sheets on the packing list; Cypress Hall and Keys Complex need extra-long full sheets
- Fridge
- Refrigerators over 3.5 amps or 12 cubic feet prohibited
- Microwave
- Up to 1,500 watts; no more than two per room or apartment
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (all candles including wickless ones, candle warmers, incense, oil diffusers, plug-in fragrance diffusers, wax warmers)
- Extension cords
- Only UL-certified three-prong grounded cords, 14 gauge or heavier, plugging in one item only; up to three items per multi-plug adapter
- String lights
- Holiday light strands allowed but may not be plugged into each other to make a longer string
- Cooking appliances
- Toaster ovens, electric frying pans, waffle irons, hot plates, deep fryers, rice cookers and flameless grills may not be used in rooms (kitchen areas only)
- Space heaters
- Open-coil space heaters prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Floor-style halogen lamps prohibited; desk-style halogen lamps of 50 watts or less allowed
Also: Wallpaper, contact paper and stickers prohibited; Neon signs, lava lamps, road signs, over-the-door hooks, and curtains or window decor prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UF Housing: Pack Like a Pro, UF Housing Community Standards, UF Housing packing list (PDF). “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Not stated on the checklist; it points to housing.uga.edu for mattress sizes
- Fridge
- Bring your own mini-fridge or rent one from the partner vendor
- Microwave
- Bring your own or rent from the partner vendor
- Candles and incense
- Candles prohibited
- Extension cords
- Not stated on the page
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Toasters prohibited
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Not stated on the page
Also: Essential-oil diffusers, plug-in air fresheners and personal routers prohibited; Electric scooters may not be charged or stored inside UGA buildings.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UGA Housing: what to bring checklist (PDF). “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long twin (sheets 36 x 80 in); hall pages list furniture dimensions
- Fridge
- One per room, up to 4.4 cubic feet, Energy Star (Sherman and Daniels come with combo units)
- Microwave
- One per room, 800 watts or less
- Candles and incense
- Candles (lighting or decoration) and incense prohibited
- Extension cords
- Prohibited (two UL-approved power strips with a 15-amp breaker are recommended)
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Hotplates, skillets, toasters, toaster ovens, rice cookers and air fryers prohibited
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited (lamps and bulbs of any kind)
Also: Residents may not modify rooms or furniture, including lofts; Your own mattress prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Illinois Housing move-in checklist. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Twin XL or Full XL sheets listed (mattress size not stated)
- Fridge
- Provided in the room
- Microwave
- Provided in the room
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (candles; incense not listed)
- Extension cords
- Extension cords and multi-plug adapters prohibited; surge protectors allowed
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Deep fryers, air fryers, rice cookers, popcorn machines, ovens, stoves, grills, electric skillets, hot plates, crock pots, Instant Pots and other pressure cookers prohibited; toasters allowed
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (portable heaters and AC units)
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited (halogen lamps and lamps with plastic shades)
Also: LED strip lights, headboards, excessive wall coverings and items used to loft a bed prohibited; Electric scooters and hoverboards prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UK Housing: What to Bring and What Not to Bring (PDF). “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Twin-size bed and mattress provided; bed risers must be square and no taller than 12 inches
- Fridge
- Up to 3.6 cubic feet, UL-certified, 120-volt grounded plug; 1.5 amps maximum in high-rise halls, 0.5 amps in un-renovated South Campus halls
- Microwave
- Standalone microwaves not approved; allowed only as part of the MicroFridge unit. The policies page lists microwaves as permitted only in select halls
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (candles, incense, fireworks, candle warmers)
- Extension cords
- Extension cords and power strips without surge protection prohibited; a UL, CSA or ETL approved strip with an integrated circuit breaker is allowed
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Cooking prohibited in all student rooms (electric skillets, hot plates, toasters, toaster ovens, crock pots). Air popcorn poppers and hot water pots with enclosed elements only in a floor lounge cooking area
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (space heaters and personal air conditioners)
- Halogen lamps
- Halogen bulbs prohibited; lamps with gooseneck arms and plastic shades also prohibited
Also: E-scooters, hoverboards and e-bikes prohibited; Wallpaper, vinyl stickers, nails, masking tape and room dividers prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UMD Resident Life: Before Move-In, UMD Resident Life: Policies to Know. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Standard mattress 36 x 80 in (takes Twin XL linens)
- Fridge
- Under 5.5 cubic feet and 1.5 amps (can also be rented)
- Microwave
- Under 800 watts (can also be rented)
- Candles and incense
- Candles, wax burners and incense prohibited
- Extension cords
- Allowed: size 16 or less and UL certified
- String lights
- Allowed, but not hung from pipes
- Cooking appliances
- Open-coil appliances, toaster ovens, slow cookers and Instant Pots prohibited
- Space heaters
- Not stated on the page
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited (lamps must not be halogen)
Also: Bed risers prohibited; Humidifiers and dehumidifiers need Housing approval; Wireless routers prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Michigan Housing: what to bring and what to leave at home. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long twin (80 in) in residence halls; full-size in Keeler Apartments
- Fridge
- 4.3 cubic feet or less in residence halls
- Microwave
- 700 watts or less in residence halls
- Candles and incense
- Candles and incense prohibited
- Extension cords
- Allowed (UL-listed extension cords and surge protectors recommended)
- String lights
- Allowed (do not use the adhesive backing on LED strips)
- Cooking appliances
- Appliances with open heating elements prohibited in residence halls (allowed in apartment kitchens)
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: Air conditioners, wireless routers, hoverboards, e-bikes and e-scooters prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Minnesota Housing: what to bring. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Residence halls: extra-long twin (80 in twin sheets); residents may not build or use their own lofts. Mizzou at U Centre: extra-long double or queen sheets
- Fridge
- One compact refrigerator, 4.5 cubic feet or smaller, per bedroom
- Microwave
- One microwave under 1,000 watts per bedroom
- Candles and incense
- Wax candles, wax melts, oil diffusers, oil lamps and incense prohibited; electric or battery-operated candles allowed
- Extension cords
- Multi-plug adapters prohibited; only a surge protector strip with a 15-amp circuit breaker and safety reset switch
- String lights
- Decorative lights allowed in rooms but not on door frames, metal bed frames, windows, fire alarms or sprinkler heads; self-adhesive LED lights prohibited
- Cooking appliances
- Coffee makers, kettles, rice steamers and air popcorn poppers permitted; toasters, toaster ovens, air fryers, electric grills, panini presses, Instant Pots and pressure cookers prohibited
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (no space heaters of any kind)
- Halogen lamps
- The policies page allows halogen bulbs up to 300 watts with a protective glass or wire basket; the move-in checklist lists halogen lamps as prohibited
Also: Curtains and other window treatments, door marker boards and wifi routers prohibited; Electric bikes and electric scooters prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Mizzou Housing: Residence Hall Policies, Mizzou Housing: Move-In Checklist. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Not stated on the page
- Fridge
- Mini fridges and freezers not allowed; a MicroFridge is listed to bring
- Microwave
- Prohibited except in apartment-style housing
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited
- Extension cords
- Extension cords prohibited; surge protectors are listed to bring
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Devices with exposed elements prohibited (hot plates, electric stove tops, griddles, electric frying pans, deep-fry cookers, air fryers with exposed elements); toasters and toaster ovens prohibited; a Keurig is listed to bring
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: Lofts: most halls allow lofts up to 60 in or resident-supplied lofts; 650 Lincoln, 820 Henderson, Bates West, Capstone and Celia Dial Saxon allow no lofting or risers; Electric scooters, e-bikes and hoverboards prohibited; Water beds, TV wall mounts and wallpaper prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Carolina Housing: Packing for Carolina, Carolina Housing: Lofts & Hanging Items. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Not stated on the page
- Fridge
- Each room includes a micro-fridge unit; additional mini-fridges prohibited
- Microwave
- Not stated on the page
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (candles and incense)
- Extension cords
- Extension cords and power strips without surge protectors prohibited; surge-protected power strips listed as essentials
- String lights
- "Hanging lights" listed as prohibited; string lights not named
- Cooking appliances
- Countertop grills, hot plates and open-coil units (toasters, space heaters) prohibited; a coffee maker is listed as optional
- Space heaters
- Prohibited (open-coil units)
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: Air conditioners, cinder blocks for lofting, nails or screws, paint and TV wall mounts prohibited; Unapproved bunk beds and lofts prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UT Knoxville University Housing: What to Bring. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Extra-long twin
- Fridge
- Personal refrigerators not allowed; University Housing provides one
- Microwave
- Personal microwaves not allowed; University Housing provides one
- Candles and incense
- Candles (with or without burned wicks) and incense prohibited
- Extension cords
- Allowed if UL-listed, with a built-in circuit breaker, for indoor use
- String lights
- Prohibited (rope, string and strip lights, including LED)
- Cooking appliances
- Appliances with open heating coils prohibited (Instant Pots, air fryers, rice cookers, toasters, toaster ovens, grills)
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited (as decorative lighting)
Also: Pets other than fish prohibited (fish tank of 5 gallons or less); Wireless routers and 3D printers prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UT Housing: what to bring and leave behind. “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- The checklist lists twin XL bedding; mattress size not stated
- Fridge
- Not stated on the page
- Microwave
- Not prohibited; no limit stated
- Candles and incense
- Candles prohibited (incense not mentioned)
- Extension cords
- Prohibited
- String lights
- Not stated on the page
- Cooking appliances
- Toasters, toaster ovens, grills, air fryers, slow cookers and any open-element appliance prohibited
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Prohibited
Also: A portable air conditioner is allowed after agreeing to terms and conditions.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: UW-Madison: What Would Bucky Bring (2026 checklist). “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.
- Bed
- Twin XL (36 x 80 in); nothing larger without approval; self-built or rented lofts and bed risers not permitted
- Fridge
- Each room has one MicroFridge; no other refrigerator permitted
- Microwave
- Each room has one MicroFridge; no other microwave permitted
- Candles and incense
- Prohibited (candles, incense and other open-flame items; narrow exception for regulated religious ceremonies)
- Extension cords
- No extension cords of any kind; power strips must be UL listed, 15 amps maximum with an integral circuit breaker, no more than two per student, never plugged into each other
- String lights
- UL-approved, cool-to-touch mini-lights only; lights may be on only when the room is occupied
- Cooking appliances
- Small UL-listed appliances with enclosed heating elements (coffee makers, blenders, rice cookers, toasters) permitted; pressure cookers, slow cookers, electric grills, air fryers and toaster ovens prohibited
- Space heaters
- Prohibited
- Halogen lamps
- Halogen bulb lamps and high-intensity lamps prohibited
Also: Hoverboards, e-scooters and other motorized vehicles prohibited; Air conditioning units, 3D printers and laser engravers prohibited.
Read from the school's own page in October 2026: Virginia Tech Housing Policies (PDF, effective July 2026). “Not stated” means the page did not say, not that it is allowed.